The Liberal Party,

Christian Mejdahl

Former Member of the Folketing, The Liberal Party

Former President of the Folketing, former Member of the Folketing

Christian Mejdahl, born December 31st 1939 at Tverå in the Faroe Islands, son of rural dean Erik C. L. Mejdahl and housewife Johanne Katrine Mejdahl.

Parliamentary career
Vice-chairman of the Danish Greenlandic Commission on Increased Home Rule in Greenland, 2004-2007. Chairman of the parliamentary working group on the new constituencies set up subsequently to the Reform on the Danish municipalities and counties, 2004-2006. Auditor of Public Accounts, 2001-2003. Chairman of the Joint Council regarding Minerals in Greenland, 1998-2003. Member of the Folketing's Finance Committee, 1992-2003. Vice-chairman of the parliamentary Liberal Party, 1990-2001, chairman, 2001-2003. Vice-chairman of the Folketing's Housing Committee, 1988-1990.

Chairman of the management committee of Hammerum School of Agriculture, 1984-2000. Member of the shareholders' council of 'Bikuben/BG Bank' in Løgstør and of the council of representatives and assembly of delegates of 'Bikuben/BG Bank' from 1985-2001. Member of the board of directors of Bikuben, 1986-1996. Chairman of the local council of 'Nykredit' in Himmerland 1985-2001, and of the steering committee of 'Nykredit', 1997-2003. Member of the national board of 'KLF Kirke & Medier', 1997-2001. Member of Oudrup Parochial Council, 1969-1985. Member of West Himmerland Deanery Committee, 1978-1985. Member of Løgstør Municipal Council, 1970-1988, mayor, 1974-1987. Member of the board of directors of 'Nordjyllands Trafikselskab', 1981-1988, vice-chairman, 1986-1988. Member of the central board of the Liberal Party from 1990. Chairman of the Liberal Party's national organisation's agricultural policy committee, 1990-2001. Member of the council of representatives of 'Danmarks Nationalbank', 1998-2001. The biography was edited on November 13th 2007 and will not be updated.

The biography is no longer updated from November 14th 2007.

The biographies of all members of the Danish Parliament and their substitutes are available on the Danish Parliament's website.
The Administration of the Danish Parliament is responsible for publishing information regarding membership of the Danish Parliament and Government.
The individual Member of Parliament is responsible for all other information. Biographies are regularly updated.
The information is  edited by the Administration of the Danish Parliament. You can contact the editorial committee by email: 

Committee memberships and spokesmanships 
Members' current committee memberships and spokesmanships are listed here.
The Administration of the Danish Parliament receives this information from the Danish Parliamentary Groups' secretariats and posts them on the Danish Parliament's website.

Bills, speeches and questions 
The Administration of the Danish Parliament records data regarding the Danish Parliament's parliamentary documents. The Administration of the Danish Parliament also records Members' names and the dates they speak in the Chamber, put questions to the Ministers and submit Bills. This information is linked via the individual Member's page to the matters, in which the Member has been involved.

Appointments and financial interests 
The Danish Parliament's Legal Services Office, i.e. the department in the Administration of the Danish Parliament that is responsible for controlling records, records Members' appointments and financial interests. A Member of Parliament who wishes to be listed in the records is, however, personally responsible for reporting relevant information to the Legal Services Office. Members are also personally responsible for reporting any changes in their appointments and financial interests.

Listed Members are obliged to report new and amended information to the Legal Services Office not later than one month after the new information becomes available, after which time the Legal Services Office updates the records. The Legal Services Office sends listed Members an annual request to renew their consent to listing. If you have questions regarding appointments records, please call the Legal Services Office on +45 3337 3112.

Portrait photographs 
The Danish Parliament owns the copyright to portrait photographs of Members of the Danish Parliament. However, portrait photographs of Members of the Danish Parliament may be duplicated at any time provided that the source reference and photographer's name are stated. Photographic images may not, however, be changed or manipulated or used for independent, commercially exploitative purposes.



Latest update: [30.01.2018]
Editor: Biografiredaktionen